Skip to Content
Government Boards and Commissions

We are proud to have the dedicated assistance of over 70 volunteers serving on a wide range of Boards and Commissions. These volunteers assist us in providing programming and services to our community, which the Village relies on to guarantee the continued, efficient operation of government.

We welcome and encourage you to get involved! Take a moment to review the following list of Commissions, their goals and projects. Then, simply download and return the Commission Application to Village Hall. Join us, and your neighbors, as we work together to maintain the high quality of life we all enjoy in the Village of Streamwood!

This document is available to view in PDF format. Commission Application

Blood Commission

The Blood Commission operates a blood donor program.  They encourage citizens to give donations of blood for medical purposes.

Meets four times a year at Village Hall.

Members: Janet Klee, Chairman
Kathleen Dolan Baumer, Brian Kidd, Leia Chapas, Dawn Leardi, Courtney Holm, Mark Holm
Alternate Member: Rosa Acosta

Back To TopCivil Service Commission

The Civil Service Commission makes rules for employee examinations, appointments and removals in accordance with the Civil Service Act.  The purpose of the group is to promote fair and equal treatment and opportunity under the law.

Meets on an as-needed basis at Village Hall.

Members: Peter Schwartz, Ernie Wollter, Susan Begy.

Community and Economic Development Commission

The Community and Economic Development Commission helps the Village by monitoring its plans for the attraction, retention, maintenance, and revitalization of economic and community growth.

Meets on an as-needed basis at Village Hall.

Members:  Chuck Wiercinski, Sandy Stewart, Tom Fidanzia, Randy Johnson, Dr. David Sams, Kosta Apostolopoulos, Kurt Reckamp

Back To TopCommunity Relations Commission

The Community Relations Commission is responsible for making recommendations to the Board of Trustees on programs to improve human relations in the Village, while recognizing, valuing and respecting the diverse cultures in our community.

Meets on the 2nd Monday of each month at 7:00pm at Village Hall.

Members: Rev. Auldon Lightbourne, Chairman,
Teresa Chow Hauser, Patricia Hogan, Claudia Mondragon, Daniela Kowalska-Wudyka, Adelita Zeier, Nazneen Hashmi
Alternate Members:  H. Hormozi, Gerardo Perez

Liquor Commission

The Liquor Commission assists the Local Liquor Control Commissioner in the administration of the Dram Shop Act, Chapter 43 of the Illinois Revised Statutes and of such Village ordinances and resolutions relating to alcoholic liquor as may be needed.

Meets on an as-needed basis at Village Hall.

Back To TopLuminaria

Member: Cheryl Dahl-Kearney, Chairman

Natural Resource Conservancy Commission

The Natural Resource Conservancy Commission recommends strategies for the conservation and protection of our natural resources. Persons serving on the Commission must possess training, interest or experience in such areas as ecology, biology, education and or similarly related fields.

Meets the 2nd Tuesday of the month, four times per year, at 7:00pm at Village Hall.

Members: Dave Adamczyk, Judy Feldhausen, Leanne McRill, Amy Thomas, Paul Adeyemo
Alternate Member: Kevin Wills

Plan Commission

The Plan Commission recommends to the Village Board drafts and reviews of the Village’s Comprehensive Plan as well as all plans and developments as outlined in the Subdivision Control Ordinance, Zoning Code, Village Code and State Statutes.

Meets the 3rd Tuesday of each month at 7:00pm at Village Hall.

Members: Sandy Stewart, Chairman
Alan Burnham, Doug Baker, Steve Migala, Jim Stock, Amy Levine, Jim Wojcik

Back To TopBoard of Police and Fire Commissioners

The Board of Police and Fire Commissioners makes appointments to the Police and Fire Departments.  They conduct entrance and promotional examinations to ensure fair and equal treatment under the law.

Meets the 1st Thursday of each month at 6:00pm at Village Hall

Members:  Kevin King, Bill Berquist, Jim Dexter

Police Pension Board

The Police Pension Board manages, invests and controls the Police Pension Fund and all related funds, as set forth under State Statutes.

Meets four times a year at Police Department.

Members:  Ronald Franczak, Kevin Soss

Back To TopSummer Celebration Committee

Members:  Bill Berquist, Chairman
Billie Roth, Dianne Berquist, Sharon Caddigan, Lauren Jochem, Robin Lingle, Gary O’Rourke, Christine Pappin, Kurt Reckamp, Sandy Stewart, William Wright

Veterans Memorial Commission

Members of this Commission make recommendations to the Village Board on the presentation and enhancement of the Memorial, all events held at the Memorial and funding for its continued maintenance.

Meets the 4th Tuesday of each month at 7:00pm at Village Hall.

Members:  Lisa Poturalski, Chairman
James Nicklen, Richard Winterfeld, Kathryn Serbin, Bill Lunsford, Steve Wilson

Zoning Board of Appeals

The Zoning Board of Appeals hears requests for variations, special use permits and other changes to the Zoning Code and makes recommendations to the Village Board.

Meets the 1st Wednesday of each month at 7:00pm at Village Hall.

Members:  Bob Migala, Chairman
Norbert Esch, Rick Bayne, Marie Alexander, Khaja Moinuddin, Phil Candella

Please note: Commission appointments may require completion of an on-line Open Meetings Act training, within 90 days of appointment.  Some Commission members are required to submit annual Statements of Economic Interest.  For more information on these requirements, please contact the Village Clerk.

Back To Top