Skip To Content
Village Hall atrium

The Village of Streamwood was incorporated in 1957 and operates under the Council / Manager form of government.  It is a home rule community as defined by the Illinois Constitution.  Streamwood is located approximately 33 miles northwest of the City of Chicago in Cook County and has a land area of 7.5 square miles with approximately 100 miles of streets.  The population as certified by the 2010 Special Census is 39,858.

Policy making and legislative authority are vested in the Village Board, which consists of the Village President and six Trustees.  This governing body is responsible, among other things, for passing ordinances, adopting the budget, appointing committees, and hiring the Village Manager and Village Attorney.  The Village Manager is responsible for carrying out the policies and ordinances of the Village Board, for overseeing the day-to-day operations of the Village, and for appointing the heads of the Village’s departments.  The Board is elected on a non-partisan, at-large basis.  Trustees are elected to four-year staggered terms with three members elected every two years.  The President is elected to four-year terms.

Municipal elections occur in odd numbered years. In 2021, an election was held for the Village President, Village Clerk, and three trustee offices.